In the Millat Tractors Governors Cup Golf, Shoaib wins titles.


LAHORE – The 40th Millat Tractors Governors Cup Golf Tournament 2023 took place at the Lahore Gymkhana Golf Course over 54 holes. Muhammad Shoaib was the winner after putting on an incredible display.

On Sunday, Lahore Gymkhana’s Muhammad Shoaib won the championship with a superb final round of nett 72. He finished five strokes below par with a three-round total of 211 thanks to this outstanding performance, which also earned him the coveted title. In a close contest, Shoaib prevailed by two strokes over his nearest opponent, Nadir Khalil.

Shoaib’s remarkable fairway shots and steady putting on the greens, which regularly put him four to six feet from the hole on par fours and fives, cemented his claim to the Governors Cup championship. Nadir finished with scores of 70, 72, and 71 and an aggregate of nett 213, while his nett scores of 72, 67, and 72, with an overall total of 211, ensured his victory. Ghulam Qadir

Sameer Iftikhar took first place in the gross event with a total score of 228 (78, 76, and 74). Having received an aggregate score of 228 points, Hussain Hamid of Royal secured the second position, while Muhammad Arsalan of Gymkhana secured the third position. Positions were decided by comparing the best scores over the final 36 holes because the competition among the top three was so close.

Zayd Omar took first place in the juniors event, followed by Rehan Asif in second and Muhammad Ali Khan in third. Bushra Fatima won the ladies gross title, followed by Ana James Gill in second place and Aleesa Rashid of Ace Junior League in third. a League that Dr. Asma Shami organised. Saqiba Batool won the women’s nett title, followed by Zaib un Nisa and Sobia Waseem.

Javed A Khan emerged victorious in the veterans gross title, followed by Col M Shafi in second place and Dr Tariq Habib Malik in third. Brig Tahir Saleem took first place in the veterans nett category, followed by Ejaz Malik in second place and Col Abdul Ghaffar in third. Col Raja Asif Mehdi won the seniors gross title, and Asim Tiwana and Omar Javaid Zia came next.

Rana Usman emerged victorious in the seniors nett, followed by Maj Fida Tiwana in second place and Ahsan Ghias in third. Shawan Pervaiz came in third, Safdar Gill second, and Robin Bagh first among the local pros. The tournament’s chief referee was named as Munazza Shaheen, the Rules Official. The golfers easily complied with every one of her more than sixty rulings. The event’s chief guests, Governor Punjab Baligh ur Rehman and Sikandar Mustafa Khan, Chairman of Millat Group of Companies, gave her a souvenir and also gave out awards to the best performers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here