Shoaib annexes title in 40th Millat Tractors Governors Cup Golf

Shoaib annexes title in 40th Millat Tractors Governors Cup Golf

TTS Report :

The 40th Millat Tractors Governors Cup Golf Tournament 2023 unfolded over 54 holes at Lahore Gymkhana Golf Course, concluding with a stellar performance from Muhammed Shoaib, who emerged as the triumphant golfer.

Muhammed Shoaib, representing Lahore Gymkhana, secured the championship with an outstanding final round of net 72 on Sunday. This stellar performance contributed to a three-round aggregate of 211, placing him five strokes under par and securing his prestigious title. In a neck-and-neck competition, Shoaib managed to surpass his closest rival, Nadir Khalil, by a two-stroke margin. While Nadir showcased commendable skills, a couple of missed putts ultimately relegated him to the runner-up position.

Shoaib’s victory can be attributed to his formidable power and adept handling of tense moments. His consistent putting prowess on the greens and impressive fairway shots, consistently positioning him within four to six feet of the hole on par fours and fives, solidified his claim to the Governors Cup title. Shoaib’s net scores of 72, 67, and 72, with an aggregate of 211, secured his triumph, while Nadir concluded with scores of 70, 72, and 71 and an aggregate of net 213. Ghulam Qadir of Okara made a valiant effort with scores of 72, 71, and 72, totaling an aggregate of 215, securing the third position.

In the gross event, Sameer Iftikhar claimed the first gross with scores of 78, 76, and 74, totaling 228. Hussain Hamid of Royal secured the second gross with an aggregate score of 228, while Muhammed Arsalan (Gymkhana) took the third position, also with an aggregate score of 228. The competitive race among the top three was so tight that positions were determined based on the best scores over the last 36 holes.

In the juniors event, the first position was claimed by Zayd Omar, second by Rehan Asif and third by Muhammed Ali Khan. The ladies gross title went to Bushra Fatima, second to Ana James Gill and third Aleesa Rashid of Ace Junior League owned and run by Munazza Shaheen. The ladies net title was claimed by Saqiba Batool followed by Zaib un Nisa and Sobia Waseem.

The veterans gross title was won by Javed A Khan while Col M Shafi finished second and Dr Tariq Habib Malik third. The veterans net category saw Brig Tahir Saleem winning first position, Ejaz Malik second and Col Abdul Ghaffar third. The seniors gross title was lifted by Col Raja Asif Mehdi followed by Asim Tiwana and Omar Javaid Zia.

In the seniors net, Rana Usman won the title while Maj Fida Tiwana finished second and Ahsan Ghias third. In the local professionals, Robin Bagh bagged first, Safdar Gill second and Shawan Pervaiz third.

At the awards ceremony, chief guests Governor Punjab Baligh ur Rehman and Sikandar Mustafa Khan, Chairman of Millat Group of Companies, presented the prizes to the top performers. The event, attended by participating golfers and their families, marked the culmination of the 40th Millat Tractors Governors Cup Golf Tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here