New Zealand ease past Pakistan in first T20I

New Zealand ease past Pakistan in first T20I

Web Desk :

Shaheen Afridi’s first assignment as the shortest format captain didn’t go as planned as New Zealand defeated Pakistan by 46 runs in the first T20I at Eden Park, Auckland, on Friday.Despite a brilliant start provided by Saim Ayub’s remarkable knock as the left-handed batter scored 27 off just 8, the Green Shirts crumbled in their chase and couldn’t convert that into a win.

The Green Shirts were 130-4 in 12.4 overs, still in position to chase the target but Azam Khan’s disappointing display with the bat doubled the visitors’ troubles.Fakhar Zaman (15 off 10), Iftikhar Ahmed (24 off 17) and Azam Khan (10 off 9) were the Men in Green’s underperformers with the bat.

Meanwhile, former skipper Babar Azam top-scored for the losing side by scoring 57 runs off 35 balls but his efforts were not enough in front of the mammoth target set by the Black Caps. Tim Southee, who completed his 150th T20I wicket, picked three wickets while Adam Milne and Ben Sears got two each.

Earlier in the first innings, Daryl Mitchell and Kane Williamson were New Zealand’s best performers with the bat as the two scored 57 and 61 runs respectively.

Williamson was given a life at 11 as he was dropped by Babar Azam. The Kiwi skipper took full advantage of the chance and ended up scoring a fantastic half-century.

Although the 33-year-old didn’t play with a massive strike rate (135.71), he did manage to provide room for other players like Finn Allen (35 off 15) and Mitchell (61 off 27) who breathe fire with their bat and scored runs with the strike rates of 233 and 255 respectively.

Down the order, Mark Chapman did his job and scored another quick 26 off just 11 deliveries with two fours and as many sixes.

All of Pakistan’s bowlers were taken to the cleaners, with just Abbas Afridi and Haris Rauf bowling with a decent economy of 8.50 each.

Afridi, who provided an excellent start with a wicket in the first over, failed to capitalise on that and ended up conceding 46 runs while taking three wickets. Aamer Jamal conceded 56 while Usama Mir was bashed for 51 runs in four overs.


Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Aamer Jamal, Usama Mir, Shaheen Afridi (c), Abbas Afridi, Haris Rauf

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Adam Milne, Matthew Henry, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears

Full schedule:

1st T20 – 12 January 2024 at Eden Park, Auckland

2nd T20 – 14 January 2024 at Seddon Park, Hamilton

3rd T20 – 17 January 2024 at University Oval, Dunedin

4th T20 – 19 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch

5th T20 – 21 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Read More :


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here