Australian women’s T20I and ODI squads announced for CommBank International series; Governor-General’s XI confirmed


Web Desk :

The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) has today named the Australian squads for the T20I and ODI components of the women’s CommBank multi-format series against South Africa.There is minimal change to the squad which claimed ODI (3-0) and T20I (2-1) series victories over India earlier this month.The only variation to the squad between formats is the addition of Alana King for the ODIs, who comes in for batter Grace Harris at the conclusion of the T20Is.

The squad for the Test match at the WACA Ground will be selected following the first ODI.All matches will be broadcast live on Seven, Fox Cricket, Kayo Sports and ABC Radio.

Australian squad
Alyssa Healy (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Sydney CC – Captain)
Darcie Brown (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Northern Districts CC)
Heather Graham (TAS / Hobart Hurricanes / Clarence District CC)
Ashleigh Gardner (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Bankstown CC)
Kim Garth (VIC / Melbourne Stars / Dandenong CC)
Grace Harris (QLD / Brisbane Heat / Western Suburbs CC)*
Jess Jonassen (QLD / Brisbane Heat / Valley Districts CC)
Alana King (WA / Perth Scorchers / Midland Guildford CC)**
Phoebe Litchfield (NSW / Sydney Thunder / Sydney University CC)
Tahlia McGrath (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Glenelg CC – Vice Captain)
Beth Mooney (WA / Perth Scorchers / Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)
Ellyse Perry (VIC / Sydney Sixers / Dandenong CC)
Megan Schutt (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Sturt CC)
Annabel Sutherland (VIC / Melbourne Stars / Prahran CC)
Georgia Wareham (VIC / Melbourne Renegades / Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)
*T20s only

**ODIs only

A 12-player squad for the annual Governor-General’s XI fixture has also been confirmed, with the side to play South Africa in a T20 match on 24 January at North Sydney Oval.

The NSP, in conjunction with the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), has named the squad below which includes Private Kayla Stuchbree.

Stuchbree, a respected medium pace bowler and middle order batter, has been selected to represent the Australian Defence Force. Stuchbree’s selection continues a long-standing association with the ADF and is based on outstanding performances at the recent Cricket ADF national carnival.

Melbourne Renegades skipper Sophie Molineux has been named captain of a Governor-General’s XI which features a strong contingent of rising Australian talent.

After a year-long layoff due to a ruptured ACL, Molineux returned to competitive cricket late last year in the Women’s National Cricket League.

The allrounder starred in her second game back, scoring 62 runs and taking 6-45 to earn Player of the Match honours.

Cricket Australia’s National Development Lead Kristen Beams will coach the side with the support of assistant coaches Jenny Gunn and Grant Lambert.

The Governor-General’s XI match will be broadcast live on Foxtel and Kayo Sports.

Governor-General’s XI squad
Sophie Molineux (Melbourne Renegades / Dandenong CC – Captain)
Chloe Ainsworth (Perth Scorchers / Melville District Cricket Club)
Maddy Darke (Perth Scorchers / Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club)
Amy Edgar (Perth Scorchers / Melville District Cricket Club)
Tess Flintoff (Melbourne Stars / Ringwood CC)
Sianna Ginger (Brisbane Heat / Valley District Cricket Club)
Milly Illingworth (Melbourne Stars / Essendon Maribyrnong Park Cricket Club)
Charli Knott (Brisbane Heat / University of Queensland CC)
Courtney Sippel (Brisbane Heat / Western Suburbs CC)
Amy Smith (Hobart Hurricanes / New Town Cricket Club)
Georgia Voll (Brisbane Heat / Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)
Private Kayla Stuchbree – Australian Defence Force

CA’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:
“The squads for the upcoming T20s and ODIs are very similar to the one that travelled to India recently.

“As was the case for our home series against the West Indies in October, Grace Harris is part of the squad for the T20s only and will be replaced by Alana King for the ODIs.

“South Africa were formidable opponents in the 2023 ICC T20 World Cup Final in Cape Town and we look forward to the challenge of hosting the Proteas in multi-format series in Australia.

“The Governor-General’s XI fixture presents a great opportunity to see some of the brightest young cricketers take on a high-quality international opposition.

“The talent in this squad shows the depth in the women’s game in Australia and we’re excited to see our next generation of players progress through the ranks of Australian cricket.

“It’s pleasing to be able to reward those players who have impressed throughout the Weber WBBL in addition to a few up-and-coming players who will hugely benefit from the experience.

“On behalf of Cricket Australia, I’d like to thank the Governor-General for his continued strong support of women’s cricket in Australia.

“The GG’s XI have enjoyed an unbeaten run under His Excellency, and we hope to extend this perfect record ahead of his term concluding this year.”

The Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) said:
“The upcoming GG’s XI match is an incredible opportunity for some of Australia’s best young cricketers to test their skill against a challenging South African team that finished runners-up in the 2023 T20 World Cup.

“I would like to congratulate Sophie Molineux on her appointment as captain of the Governor-General’s XI.

“Sophie is an exceptional leader on and off the field and we know she will guide this young team with distinction against South Africa.

“It is especially pleasing to be able to host this exciting, important event for the final time and I look forward to a spectacular day of cricket at North Sydney Oval.”

Jan 24: Governor-General’s XI v South Africa | North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Jan 27: 1st T20I | Manuka Oval, Canberra
Jan 28: 2nd T20I | Manuka Oval, Canberra
Jan 30: 3rd T20I | Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Feb 3: 1st ODI | Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Feb 7: 2nd ODI | North Sydney Oval, Sydney
Feb 10: 3rd ODI | North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Feb 15-18: Test match | WACA Ground, Perth


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here