Australia announces a 14-man squad for the Pakistani first-test match.


The series’ opening game will be played at Perth Stadium from December 14–18.

The World Cup 2023 winning captain Pat Cummins led Australia’s 14-man squad for the opening Test match of the three-match home series against Pakistan, which was announced on Sunday.

The series’ opening game will be played at Perth Stadium from December 14–18.

Along with Usman Khawaja, Australian opener David Warner announced that he would end his 12-year career in the longest format. Warner is part of the squad for the opening Test.

Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Greene, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, and Mitchell Marsh are among the other players on the squad.

The 14-man squad for the first Test also included Lance Morris, Steve Smith, and Mitchell Starc.

George Bailey, the chief selector for Australia, stated that there were still chances for others to position themselves for the upcoming two-match series against the West Indies and the Tests against Pakistan in Melbourne and Sydney.

“We look forwards to seeing the continued strong performances from players who have been performing domestically, many of whom will get a tremendous opportunity in the Prime Minister’s XI fixture against Pakistan later this week,” said the statement.

Pakistan is currently getting ready for the series, having lost every game they have played in Australia for almost thirty years.

Australia squad: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Boland, Cameron Green, Lance Morris

Pakistan squad: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia tour schedule:
Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra

1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium

2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here