Centurion Abid Ali continues to shine with bat, keeps SNGPL in hunt against WAPDA


Karachi (SNP Report): Record holder experienced batsman Abid Ali continued to shine with bat as he smashed a century that helped SNGPL remain firmly in contention against WAPDA in the fifth round of the President’s Trophy.

The second day of the fifth round saw an even contest between SNGPL and WAPDA. The game between HEC and PTV also entered an interesting phase. SBP bowlers got their team back in the game as KRL found themselves in a spot of bother. Besides Abid Ali’s 29th first-class century, WAPDA’s Asif Afridi spun a web around SNGPL batters on his way to a five-wicket haul.

SNGPL vs WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

WAPDA lead by 28 runs in second innings after the completion of the second day’s play as SNGPL were bundled out for 292 in their first innings. Earlier in the day, SNGPL continued from their overnight score of 13-0 and lost Azhar Ali (5, 29b). Omair Bin Yousuf lasted for 55 balls as he scored only 23 runs. Kamran Ghulam (41, 99b, 2x4s, 2x6s) joined forces with Abid Ali to stitch an 89-run partnership.

Meanwhile, Abid Ali (147, 183b, 14x4s, 3x6s) brought up his 29th first-class century, which also kept the SNGPL innings together. Skipper Asad Shafiq (25, 34b, 2x4s) failed to convert his start. SNGPL lost their last five wickets for a paltry total of 13 runs.

Asif Afridi and Khalid Usman bowled in tandem to share nine wickets among them as the former bagged his ninth five-wicket haul. WAPDA copped a big blow at the start of their second innings as opening batter Hassan Abid Kiyani bagged a two-ball duck. Muhammad Akhlaq (21) and Ahmed Shehzad (43, 59b, 8x4s) carved an unbeaten 64-run partnership before stumps were drawn and erased SNGPL’s 36-run lead while building a small lead.

HEC vs PTV at State Bank Stadium, Karachi

HEC scored 231-8 in their allotted 80 overs in reply to PTV’s 216, taking a mere 15-run lead on day two. Continuing from their overnight score of 111-3, HEC lost Saad Khan (24, 51b, 2x4s) early. Debutant Obaid Shahid (57 not out, 149b, 3x4s) scored a gutsy unbeaten half-century to help his team inch closer to PTV’s first-innings total.

He was helped by Adeel Meo (20, 41b, 2x4s) and Mohammad Azab (20, 82b, 3x4s) who spent time in the middle. PTV’s Jahandad Khan and Mohammad Ibtisam bagged two wickets each while Mohammad Sadaqat and Muhammad Shahzad struck once.

In reply, PTV opening batters, Hasan Nawaz (59, 75b, 5x4s, 2x6s) and Nasir Nawaz (39, 63b, 7x4s) got off to a good start putting on 80 runs for the first wicket. Hasan was dismissed moments before stumps were drawn with the scorecard reading 122-2 and with a lead of 107 runs. Waqar Hussain (24 not out, 45b, 3x4s) and Muhammad Shahzad will continue batting on day three for PTV.

SBP vs KRL at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

SBP were reduced to 47-5 as they continued from their overnight score of 28-2. Ali Usman and Rameez Aziz scored one run each. Muhammad Irfan Khan (91 not out, 124b, 8x4s, 4x6s), batting at number six, struck a brilliant half-century to cut the trail below hundred. SBP ended up scoring 194 all out in 58.3 overs. Wicket-keeper batter Ali Shan (33, 95b, 4x4s, 1×6) also put up resistance facing more than 15 overs.

Umer Khan dismissed three batters while Kashif Ali bagged two scalps. Arshadullah and Sirajuddin removed one batter each. KRL started their second innings with a 75-run lead.

SBP bowlers wreaked havoc as they reduced KRL to 24-5. Maaz Sadaqat (42 not out, 68b, 7x4s) continued the flow of runs and remained unbeaten by the end of the day. Rohail Nazir (23, 53b, 4x4s) and Umer Khan (2, 3b) were the two other KRL batters to get out as KRL finished the day at 101-7 in 38 overs and a lead of 176.

Scores in brief:

SNGPL vs WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex

WAPDA 328-6, 80 overs (Ahmed Shehzad 77, Ayaz Tasawar 75, Mohammad Saad 45 not out, Muhammad Akhlaq 41; Mubasir Khan 3-67, Mubasir Khan 3-67, Mohammad Awais Anwar 2-56, Kamran Ghulam 1-23) and 64-1, 20 overs (Ahmed Shehzad 43 not out, Muhammad Akhlaq 21 not out; Shehzad Gul 1-8)

SNGPL 292 all out, 73.3 overs (Abid Ali 147, Kamran Ghulam 41, Asad Shafiq 25; Asif Afridi 5-124, Khalid Usman 4-89)

HEC vs PTV at State Bank Stadium

PTV 216 all out, 52 overs (Hasan Mohsin 56, Hasan Nawaz 52, Mohammad Suleman 26; Asadullah Hamza 4-61, Mohammad Azab 3-55, Aarish Ali Khan 2-42, Muneer Khan 1-54) and 122-2, 31 overs (Hasan Nawaz 59, Nasir Nawaz 39, Waqar Hussain 24 not out; Mohammad Azab 1-26, Asadullah Hamza 1-54)

HEC 231-8, 80 overs (Obaid Shahid 57 not out, Mohammad Huraira 41, Wahaj Riaz 31; Mohammad Ibtisam 2-52, Jahandad Khan 2-74, Muhammad Shahzad 1-13, Mohammad Sadaqat 1-61)

SBP vs KRL at National Bank Stadium

KRL 269 all out, 78.3 overs (Rohail Nazir 66, Maaz Sadaqat 64, Sharoon Siraj 55; Rameez Aziz 3-67, Zahid Mehmood 3-69, Mohammad Abbas 1-29, Afaq Afridi 1-56) and 101-7, 38 overs (Maaz Sadaqat 42 not out, Rohail Nazir 23; Rameez Aziz 3-10, Afaq Afridi 2-17, Zahid Mehmood 2-23)

SBP 194 all out, 58.3 overs (Muhammad Irfan Khan 91 not out, Ali Shan 33, Usman Salahuddin 24; Umer Khan 3-41, Kashif Ali 2-48, Arshadullah 1-32, Sirajuddin 1-43) 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here