Shadab XI beat Babar XI by 4 wickets in 50-over Practice Match


Lahore: Fakhar Zaman’s classic century steered Shadab XI to a 4-wickst victory over Babar XI in the 50-over Practice Match played here at the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore on Monday.
Shadab XI, who were given revised target of 320 runs to chase in 50 overs, made a solid start and successfully achieved the huge target in just 45.2 overs for the loss of 6 wickets. Opener Fakhar Zaman emerged as hero of the match with his classic century as he hammered 109 runs (retired) for the winning side while his teammates former Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed also played a sensible knock of 58 runs (retired), while all-rounder M Nawaz contributed with unbeaten 43 runs and Danish Aziz struck 39.
For Babar XI, Faisal Akram and Haris Rauf bowled well and chipped in with two wickets apiece for conceding 56 and 52 runs respectively.
Earlier, the Babar XI posted 289 for 7 in 50 overs but the target was revised by the PCB, which was to chase 320 runs in 50 overs. Put into bat first, Babar XI piled up a total of 289 for 7 wickets in the allotted 50 overs.
Opener Imam-ul-Haq played a superb knock of 91 runs retired while captain Babar Azam also played swashbuckling knock of 83 runs retired. Saud Shakeel and Haris Rauf also batted brilliantly and hammered unbeaten 40 and 23 runs respectively.
Only two of Shadab XI bowlers bowled brilliantly and managed to take crucial wickets for their side. It was PSL-6 sterling bowler Shahnawaz Dahani, who once again impressed the selectors with his outstanding bowling and succeeded in capturing three scalps of Babar XI for conceding 39 runs. One of the successful bowlers of Pakistan cricket Shaheen Shah Afridi also bowling well and managed to claim two wickets of of the opponents for 43 runs.

Scores in Brief:
Babar XI: 289 for 7 in 50 over
(Imam-ul-Haq 91 retired, Babar Azam 83 retired, Saud Shakeel 40 not out, Haris Rauf 23 not out; Shahnawaz Dahani 3- 39, Shaheen Afridi 2- 43).
Shadab XI 321-6 in 45.2 overs (Fakhar Zaman 109 retired, Sarfraz Ahmed 58 retired, M. Nawaz 43 not out
Danish Aziz 39; Faisal Akram 2-56, Haris Rauf 2- 52).
RESULT: Shadab XI won by 4 wickets


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here