Shakir Abbasi re-elected as Risja President


Web Desk

Islamabad : Shakir Abbasi has been re-elected as President of Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (Risja) while Wafa Abbas and Noman Maqsood have been elected as vice presidents during the elections.
For presidential seat, Shakir Abbasi earned 27 votes while his opponent, Nasir Aslam Raja got only 16 votes.
Shah Khalid Secretary, Rizwan Ahmed Dhillon, Finance Secretary and Arsalan Shirazi, Senior Vice President, have already been elected unopposed.

Risja body

The Risja were held on Friday at Sports Complex in Islamabad in which polling continued from 11am to 4pm. Shakir Abbasi and Nasir Aslam Raja were contesting for the seat of President while Wafa Abbas, Noman Maqsood and Aqeel Anjum were contesting for the seats of two vice presidents.

Chairman of Election Committee, Zahid Farooq Malik, announced the results after the completion of polling. According to the Election Committee, out of the total 57 members of Risja, 43 cast their votes in which Shakir Abbasi got 27 votes and was elected President while his opponent Nasir Aslam Raja got 16 votes. Similarly, Wafa Abbas got 36 votes, Noman Maqsood 28 and Aqeel Anjum 13 votes.

It should be noted that Shah Khalid, Secretary, Rizwan Ahmed Dahlon, Finance Secretary, Arsalan Abbas Shirazi, Senior Vice President, Rozina Ali, Vice President (woman) and Neelam Arshad, Joint Secretary, have already been elected unopposed.

Similarly, Ahsan Abbas, Zeeshan Qayyum, Zain Malik, Maria Rajput and Arafa Feroz have also been elected unopposed for the governing body.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here