TTS Report

Qasim Tahir with 565 points and Sadia Ramzan with 525 points emerged as title winners in 70m male and 30m female events of Independence Day Inter-Division Archery Championship that concluded at Bhurban Stadium, Murree on Saturday.

In the blind archery 30m competition, Tanveer Ahmed, Waleed Aziz and M Usman got the top three positions. Director General Sports Punjab Adnan Arshad Aulakh was the chief guest at the closing ceremony and he, along with Commissioner Rawalpindi Syed Gulzar Hussain Shah, distributed prizes among the top performers.

Qasim, Sadia emerge title winners in Independence Day Inter-Division Archery 1

Aulakh and Punjab Archery Association (PAA) President Malik Imran Liaqat also awarded a prize of Rs 100,000 to the victorious team. Addressing the closing ceremony, Aulakh said Sports Board Punjab will construct a multiple Sports Complex in Bhurban to hold summer camps of different games in future. “The grounds in this city are also being upgraded to provide equal sports opportunities to players of Bhurban and Murree,” he added.

Director General Sports Punjab Adnan Arshad Aulakh congratulated the winning teams of Independence Day Inter-Division Archery Championship. “All the players presented wonderful performances in the 2-day championship. We are quite hopeful of finding several talented archery players after the successful organization of Independence Day Inter-Division Archery Championship”.

Commissioner Rawalpindi Syed Gulzar Hussain Shah also addressed the closing ceremony of Independence Day Inter-Division Archery Championship. He appreciated the event and said that there should be more such events in Bhurban and Murree. “This kind of event is a great opportunity for our male and female players to express their potential”.

Commissioner Rawalpindi Syed Gulzar Hussain Shah, Director Sports Hafeez Bhatti, Deputy Director Planning Rauf Bajwa, Assistant Commissioner Murree, Divisional Sports Officer Rawalpindi Manzar Farid Shah, Divisional Sports Officer Multan Rana Nadeem Anjum, President Punjab Archery Association Malik Imran Liaqat, District Sports Officer Rawalpindi Shamas Tauheed Abbasi, Secretary Punjab Archery Association Amanullah Khan, Divisional Sports Officer Gujranwala Waheed Babar, coach Shafqat Niazi were also present at the event.

In the 70m male event, M Arslan (515 points) secured second position while Mubashar Nazar (506) finished third. In the 30m female event, Saira Dilshad with 467 points and Aqsa Nawaz (460 points) remained second and third respectively. In the 30m Female Team event, Lahore division team (Saira Dilshad, Rabia Shahid and Rabia Arif) grabbed first position while Bahawalpur (Hina Mehtab, Shazia, Nigehat) clinched second spot followed by Faisalabad division team (Sadia Ramzan, Gulnaz and Sadia Abid).

Faisalabad (Qasim Tahir, Abdur Rehman, Najaf Abbas) division secured first position in Boys’ Team archery event while second position went to Sargodha (Sikander Hayat, Zia ur Rehman, Husnain) followed by Rawalpindi division M Awais, M Arslan, Naveed. Hafiz Abdur Rehman, Usama Mustafa, Ghulam Ghaus Shah, M Ishtiaq and M Jalal were also given shields on this occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here