Babar Azam-led Pakistan cricket team is eyeing clean sweep against Bangladesh as the third and last T20I will be played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today (Monday).
Pakistan decided to rest Hasan Ali in the last match and brought in Shaheen Shah Afridi in his place. Pakistan have done well to try out some youngsters in the first two games. Mohammed Wasim Jr has impressed in the couple of opportunities that he has got and this might be just the time to finally try out Shahnawaz Dahani who has been sensational in the Pakistan Super League. Sarfaraz Ahmed, Usman Qadir and Iftikhar Ahmed are the other players who can do with some game time.
Bangladesh have been hit by a couple of injury concerns before the last match of the T20 series. Both Mustafizur Rahman and Shoriful Islam picked up injuries in the 2nd T20I. While Mustafizur felt a sudden pain in his side during the match, Shoriful picked up a groin injury.
Meanwhile, the Bangladesh Cricket Board has decided to include opener Saif Hassan in the probables for the upcoming Test series in the absence of Tamim Iqbal who is out with a thumb injury. As a result, the BCB have had to add uncapped opener Parvez Hossain and pacer Kamrul Islam Rabbi to their squad. There is a good chance of Parvez coming into the side straightaway in place of Saif Hassan.
Bangladesh have Yasir Ali, Akbar Ali, Nasum Ahmed, Shahidul Islam and Shamim Hossain on the bench and might look to give them some exposure in what effectively is a dead rubber. Bangladesh bowlers, both spinners and pacers, have been doing well over some time now. But, it is their batting which is letting them down. In the absence of Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim, captain Mahmmadullah has to take more responsibility in the middle overs.
The Bangladesh pitches continue to be a nightmare for batters with the ball not coming onto the back at all. That said, the pitch for the second T20I was a fresh surface and was better for batting than the series opener. But still, the batsmen found it very difficult to hit through the line which is the name of the game in T20 cricket.
PAKISTAN: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Khushdil Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf.
BANGLADESH: Mohammad Naim, Parvez Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah (c), Nurul Hasan (wk), Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Shoriful Islam/Mustafizur Rahman.

Pakistan look to clean sweep Bangladesh T20I series 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here